Enhancing sustainable livelihoods of the poor through convergence of Mahatma Gandhi NREGA with various schemes

This report is a compilation of best practices on convergence of MGNREGA with other schemes from fourteen states across the country - Andhra Pradesh, A& N Islands, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Kerala, Odisha, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, and Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal. Recognizing the need for MGNREGA to converge with other Schemes to achieve livelihood security, the Ministry has brought out convergence guidelines, held discussions with State Governments and other Government of India Ministries etc. The Ministry has also taken several other key decisions such as, organizing convergence workshops at national and state level to share best practices, the appointment (by States) of a Nodal Officer for convergence, instituting a ‘State Award for Convergence’ (to be given every year on February 2 at MGNREGA Diwas), convergence of MGNREGA and National Rural Livelihood Mission in 184 blocks across Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Odisha, Maharashtra and West Bengal. This report is a compilation of best practices on convergence from across the country.

Related Content