Regional analysis of the nationally determined contributions in sub-Saharan Africa

  • 01/07/2022
  • FAO

46 out of the 47 countries in sub-Saharan Africa (SSA) submitted a first nationally determined contribution (NDC) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) as of 31 December 2020; South Sudan submitted an intended nationally determined contribution (INDC) back in 2015 but has yet to ratify the Paris Agreement. Seventeen countries1 in SSA have already submitted a new or updated NDC at the time of publication. For the sake of this publication, first round NDCs were reviewed to provide a synthesis of how the agriculture and land use sectors are represented in the mitigation and adaptation contributions in the region. The analysis points to key gaps and opportunities for enhancing ambition in the agriculture and land use sectors in second round NDCs, as well as challenges and barriers to implementation.